🌻 From The Veiled Muslimah 🌻

Standard
🌻 From The Veiled Muslimah 🌻

You see me as a one, who is trapped in darkness,

One who is held back in time,

One who is subjected to the ruling of men,

One who is a follower of a faith that oppresses her,

One who is veiled,

One who is tortured and disrespected all under the acceptance of her religion.
You see me as the illiterate woman who cannot know

Right from wrong

Left from right

Darkness from light

Happiness from sorrow!

you think my sense of dressing as a sign of obedience to men, out of fear for men
But do you know my hijab symbolizes my sincerity to my faith?

My love for my creator

My respect for the Mothers of the believers

My respect for my body

My need to be independent

My desire to be recognizes as a woman of intellect
Why did most of the respectable women in history cover?

Virgin Mary!

Mother Therese?

Play boy women seldom make history!

I am independent!

Islam is not a religion that traps or enslaves me but rather a religion that liberates me

Makes others view me as a woman and respect me.
Indeed, the status of women in Islam can never ever be equal to that of the western perception

The first person who accepted Islam was a woman

The first martyr of Islam was a woman too!

The Prophet peace be upon him said “paradise lies under the feet of your mother”
How can you possibly say Islam oppresses me?

Tortures me?

Abuses me?

Don’t you see sister we live in a society where women are taught freedom lies in wearing less, reveal more so you can be recognized for your beauty

Depend on the praises of men so your self esteem can be high

But why should I ever need a man to validate what I already know?
Alhamdulilah, my faith teaches me I am much more than a piece of meat 

And, if your definition of freedom is seeking praises and wearing less and oppression means respecting one self then I choose the latter with pride.

One response »

Leave a Reply

