Du’a To Do Good And Shun Evil

Standard
Du’a To Do Good And Shun Evil

Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullah wa barakatuhI hope you are in best state of health and iman.
*Learn a Du’aa*
O Allah, I ask You for the accomplishment of good deeds, and the abandonment of evil deeds, and the love of the poor; and to forgive me and show me mercy; and when You decree tribulation for a people, to take me unscathed. I ask You for Your love, and the love of those who love You, and the love of any action that will bring me closer to Your love.
Allāhumma inny as’aluka fi’l al-khayrāt wa tark al-munkarāt wa ḥubb al-masākeen, wa an taghfira ly wa tarḥamany, wa idhā arardta fitnata qawmin fa-tawaffany ghayra maftoon. Wa as’aluka ḥubbak, wa ḥubba man yuḥibbuk, wa ḥubba ‘amalin yuqarribuny ilā ḥubbik.
‎ اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أَسْأَلُكَ فِعْلَ الْخَيْرَاتِ، وَتَرْكَ الْمُنْكَرَاتِ، وَحُبَّ الْمَسَاكِينِ، وَأَنْ تَغْفِرَ لِي، وَتَرْحَمَنِي، وَإِذَا أَرَدْتَ فِتْنَةَ قَوْمٍ فَتَوَفَّنِي غَيْرَ مَفْتُونٍ، وَأَسْأَلُكَ حُبَّكَ، وَحُبَّ مَنْ يُحِبُّكَ، وَحُبَّ عَمَلٍ يُقَرِّبُنِي إِلَى حُبِّكَ
Mu‘âdh b. Jabal (rA) narrates: The Messenger of Allah ‎ﷺ was prevented one morning from [attending] the morning prayer with us until we almost saw the peak of the sun. When he completed the prayer, he said to us “[Stay] in your rows as you are.”
Then he turned to us and said: “Shall I now tell you what kept me from you this morning? I arose during the night, performed ablution, and prayed as much as was possible for me. Then I became drowsy in my prayer until I found it burdensome [to continue]. Then suddenly I was before my Lord, the Blessed and Exalted, in the most beautiful of forms. He said: ‘O Muhammad.” I responded: ‘At your service, my Lord.” He said: ‘About what does the highest gathering dispute?’ I said: ‘I do not know.’” He repeated it three times.
He said: “Then I saw Him place His palm between my shoulders, and I felt the coolness of His fingertips between my breasts. Then, all became clear to me and I suddenly knew. So He said: ‘O Muhammad,’ and I replied: ‘At your service, my Lord.’ He asked: ‘About what does the highest gathering dispute?’ I responded: ‘About the actions of atonement.’ He asked: ‘What are they?’ I said: ‘The footsteps towards good deeds, sitting in the mosques after the prayers, and perfecting the ablution during times of difficulty.’ He said: ‘What else?’ I responded: ‘Feeding others, soft speech, and praying at night while people are sleeping.’
He said: ‘Ask [of Me]; – say: O Allah, I ask You for the accomplishment of good deeds, and the abandonment of evil deeds, and the love of the poor; and to forgive me and show me mercy; and when You decree tribulation for a people, to take me unscathed. I ask You for Your love, and the love of those who love You, and the love of any action that will bring me closer to Your love.’”
The Messenger of Allah ‎ﷺ said: “It is certainly true, so study it then learn it.”
[Sound: Narrated by at-Tirmidhi (3235) who deemed it “hasan-saheeh,” Ibn Khuzaymah in at-Tawheed (441), and Ahmad (22109)]

Leave a Reply

