I am the World

Standard

I am the world
get mesmerized by my beauty,
hypnotize you with my lies,
make you chase me like it’s the Call of Duty
keep running but you’ll never catch up to me
no matter how much you love, i leave you instantly
chew you up then spit you out like bubble gum
lick my fingers at your grief and leave no trace of a crumb
but look at yourself –acting that deaf, blind and dumb
I’m playing games but to me you still succumb
you keep me on a pedestal, you’re delusional
everything revolves around me like i’m dependable
but let me tell you a secret not always comprehend-able
only by the wise it’s understandable
leave me and i’ll chase you back, be sensible.
Hisham Al Hadi

Leave a Reply

